Addiction Hurts…

“I am the wife of an addict & this is part of my TRUE story…”

this is a true story of my life…names have been omitted (except my own which shows in the author section) 

Yes, World! I was brave enough to get on the internet and say that I am the wife of an addict. An Opiate addict…

Opiates, yes, but not heroin, “Pain Pills!!!!” Yep, that’s right, a drug that you don’t have to chase down; one you wouldn’t sometimes have to venture into neighborhoods that are so scary the people who live there dare not go outside after dark; yet they hear the addicts feigning outside their homes in the danger for their next fix. No my husband became addicted to pain pills; a drug most doctors can (not saying they do but “can”) prescribe: ironically the person that can heal the sick and make lives better can also give people access to something that can ruin lives, even the lives of people not taking the medicine

The sad thing is, it hasn’t always been this way but I guess it never starts like this…I know I’ve held on longer than most would; thinking the man I exchanged marriage vows with, would return one day instead of the “stranger” inhibiting him that I wake up beside. But when do I realize he’s NOT coming back & let go? Or will I? It’s hard to walk away from someone you truly love knowing you might be their only chance; but then again I know from experience that you can’t help someone if they don’t want help…

Now you might  be wondering where things went wrong and why a “drug” could make a man turn his back on his wife, his best friend for crying out loud!, and his kids…This is the million dollar question I too am awaiting answers for & probably the main reason I am still holding on… Or maybe why he had them to begin with or who he got them from…which is the big shocker

***Stayed tuned for more of “Addiction Hurts”***

About Mommytude with ADDitude

An "ADD" mom trying to maintain an "ADHD" household during the hardest times of my life...telling "lifeasiknowit2b"

Posted on August 5, 2014, in Life's Troubles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

